28th Annual Communication Department Awards

Mason’s Department of Communication held their 28th annual undergraduate awards ceremony on Saturday, March 23rd in the JC Cinema and Student Media was very well represented. At least 14 of the outstanding students honored during the ceremony are currently involved in Student Media groups or have held leadership positions in past semesters. Special thanks to Kate Sweeney, Maria Carabelli, Tim Gibson, and Anne Nicotera for organizing the event and recognizing these students’ outstanding achievements!

Congratulations to all the winners!

Excellence in Journalism: Alex Shedd (Fourth Estate)

Excellence in Broadcast Journalism: Angelique Arintok (Mason Cable Network)

Excellence in Videography: Kera White (Mason Cable Network)

Multimedia Journalism: Dana Nickel (Fourth Estate)

Feature Writing: Lauren Sullivan (Fourth Estate)

Writing & Reporting: Natalie Heavren (Fourth Estate)

Society of Professional Journalists Leadership: Lauryn Cantrell

Journalism Student of the Year: Lauryn Cantrell (Society of Professional Journalists)

Kevin Athari Award: Natalie Heavren (Fourth Estate)

Dr. Bruce Manchester Outstanding Academic Achievement Award: Monica Echols (Fourth Estate)

Chapter of the Year: Society of Professional Journalists

COMM Ambassador of the Year: Jimmy O’Hara (George Mason Review)

PRSSA Special Recognition: Sydney Cano (Society of Professional Journalists)

WGMU Announcer of the Year: Vivek Rangarajan

WGMU Broadcasters of the Year: Giselle Aparicio & Rhema Johnson

Excellence in Communication Awards: Angelique Arintok (Mason Cable Network), Lauryn Cantrell (Society of Professional Journalists), Lauren Sullivan (Fourth Estate), and Alexis Whitted (Mason Cable Network)